There is a rich history of Oundle CE Primary School which has always had the Church of England as its foundation.
Originally established at St Peter’s Church in the 1600s, the school moved to a building at the rear of the Talbot Hotel and was known as a ‘National School for the Education of the Poor in the Principles of the Established Church’.
The Milton Road site opened in 1842. Thirty years later, co-education was suspended with the girls staying there and the boys relocated to Latham’s School in North Street before returning to Milton Road in 1903.
Following a re-organisation of local state education in 2015, the school was expanded and began operating on two sites with pupils aged 4 to 7 remaining at Milton Road while children aged 8 to 11 were educated at the former Middle School buildings situated in Cotterstock Road.
Following the closure of the Milton Road site in July 2016, the whole school family was brought together after the summer holiday that year at the completely refurbished Cotterstock Road site.